Nigeria Travel Uncategorized

FG Approves reopening of cinemas, event centres;Bars 10 Airlines from operation in Nigerian airspace

The Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19 Control has lifted all restrictions on markets and commercial stores in the country. While at the same time barring 10 International Airlines from Operations in the Nigerian airspace.

PTF National Coordinator, Dr. Sani Aliyu, who disclosed this in Abuja on Thursday, stated that the Federal Government has approved the reopening of cinemas, gyms, amusement parks and outdoor event centres while urging state governments and school administrators to start making preparations for the full reopening of schools in the country as well.

He also added that the Federal Government has reviewed the nationwide COVID-19 curfew from 12 midnight to 4am.

FG bars 10 airlines from operation in Nigerian airspace

Similarly, The PTF on COVID-19 says Air France, KLM, Etihad Airways, RwandAir and Air Namibia will not be allowed to operate in the Nigerian airspace when international flight resume on September 5.

Aviation Minister, Hadi Sirika, who disclosed this during the briefing noted that Air France and KLM airlines were not granted approval for flight operations because “tourist visa’s holders are not allowed entry.” Other affected airlines are Royal Air Maroc, Lufthansa, Cabo Verde, TAAG Angola and South African Airways who are not allowed into Nigeria because South Africa are yet to resume international flights in their country.

According to Sirika who listed the airlines approved for international flights in Lagos are British Airways, Delta, Emirates, Qatar Airways, Africa World Airlines (AWA) Ghana, Middle East, and Kenya Airways. For Abuja, British Airways, Emirates, Ethiopian, AWA Ghana, Middle East, Turkish and Egypt Air were approve.

Here are the list of Approved and Barred Ailines.